Welcome to Nigel Morgan
Main Menu  
Twelve Fantasias

Nigel Morgan's fourth fantasia.

Each Fantasia is based on an interval collection created from the patterns 59 -70 in the Thesaurus of Scales and Melodic Patterns by Nicholas Slonimsky. The root note of each pattern follows the same sequence as that chosen by G.F. Telemann for his 12 Fantasias without bass. As there is no hierarchy of tones in these ‘Slonimsky’ patterns all accidentals are written as #.

It is important that performers look carefully at these interval collections and indeed practice the scales on which they are based. This will guide the interpretation of those ornaments occasionally marked, but whose direction is left to the player – as in Telemann’s own score. It should go without saying that further ornamentation is encouraged.

Ornamentation is only marked in a similar manner to that found in Telemann’s Fantasias, usually a trill, sometimes a turn. The interval collections belonging to each Fantasia are an important reference for executing those additional notes above or below suggested by the ornament marking.

A trill always suggests the nearest higher or lower note that is felt comfortable and appropriate to the melodic figure.  Players are encouraged to go beyond the written notes and develop further textures and possibilities.

The music was in part created in the Lisp software Symbolic Composer. The notated score was fashioned in Opusmodus. This work is dedicated to the composer David Lumsdaine on his 85th birthday.

Twelve Fantasias score [pdf]
Twelve Fantasias reference recordings [zip]

Individual reference recordings
Fantasia 1 [mp3] Fantasia 2 [mp3] Fantasia 3 [mp3]
Fantasia 4 [mp3] Fantasia 5 [mp3] Fantasia 6 [mp3]
Fantasia 7 [mp3] Fantasia 8 [mp3] Fantasia 9 [mp3]
Fantasia 10 [mp3] Fantasia 11 [mp3] Fantasia 12 [mp3]

Page << | 1 | 2 | 3 | >>

Nigel Morgan, Prudential Buildings, 55 Westgate, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, WF1 1BW, United Kingdom Tel: 01924 383017 e-mail: tonalitysystems@mac.com

This website and associated content 2013 Nigel Morgan unless otherwise stated.