Welcome to Nigel Morgan
Main Menu  
Twelve Fantasias

Nigel Morgan's sixth fantasia.

The two score examples shown present Telemann's first fantasia and Nigel Morgan's sixth fantasia. This re-working observes the Slonimsky whole-tone pattern, but uses both positions of the whole-tone scale. Whilst retaining the overall rhythmic design of the Telemann original (which includes a two-part fugue) the whole-tone scales replace the pitch content, as comparing the two examples will demonstrate.

The music is composed with the baroque flute or tenor recorder in mind. It is equally playable on contemporary wind instruments: flute, oboe, clarinet, soprano saxophone. The compass is from D above middle C to F two octaves and a minor third above.

Page << | 1 | 2 | 3 | >>

Nigel Morgan, Prudential Buildings, 55 Westgate, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, WF1 1BW, United Kingdom Tel: 01924 383017 e-mail: tonalitysystems@mac.com

This website and associated content 2013 Nigel Morgan unless otherwise stated.