Welcome to Nigel Morgan
Main Menu  
Opusmodus Scores

Opusmodus code and notation output.

Between 2013 and 2015 Nigel Morgan worked as part of the development team of Opusmodus, a new computer-assisted composition environment for Macintosh. In addition to writing the documentation for the more than 700 system functions and devising the 30-stage tutorial scheme Nigel was commissioned to write a series of Starting Points for instrumental sextet. For this commission he has focused on two sextets: Dr. K Sextet from the UK and the Chicago-based Eighth Blackbird. He has also devised a further series of pieces for different combinations of alto flute, bass clarinet, violin, cello, piano and percussion. These pieces have been collected together in a volume titled A Selection of Sextets now made available on the launch of the Opusmodus software.

Opusmodus has been designed to provide what IRCAM's Musical Representation Research Group has described as a composing continuum: an environment and workspace able to provide for composition from first thoughts to a notated score. Unlike the visual-programming environments of OpenMusic and PWGL, Opusmodus is predominantly a script-based programming application, although it provides a number of novel views and routes into composing including a Live Coding Instrument.

Over a period of 2 years Nigel has employed Opusmodus to contribute to the following of his published works.

Page << | 1 | 2 | >>

Nigel Morgan, Prudential Buildings, 55 Westgate, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, WF1 1BW, United Kingdom Tel: 01924 383017 e-mail: tonalitysystems@mac.com

This website and associated content 2013 Nigel Morgan unless otherwise stated.