Welcome to Nigel Morgan
Main Menu  
Fifteen Images (Le Jardin Pluvieux)
Harmony music for wind octet

Extract from Image VII.

This collection of miniatures for wind octet is based on a work of the same title for solo piano. It is more than an arrangement, but a whole new and different piece. Whereas the piano music is intimate, reflective and offers a wide-range of interpretative possibility, the octet version is imagined for outdoor performance in the 'drowned' garden of the title. It is meticulously orchestrated to produce a spectrum of musical colour as vivid as the colours of the garden it describes.
Le Jardin Pluvieux is the garden of a celebrated Quaker meetinghouse at Brigflatts, just outside the town of Sedbergh in a southern corner of the Lake District. It is one of those special locations touched by history and already celebrated in the poem Briggflatts by the modernist poet and Quaker, Basil Bunting.

Page << | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | >>

Nigel Morgan, Prudential Buildings, 55 Westgate, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, WF1 1BW, United Kingdom Tel: 01924 383017 e-mail: tonalitysystems@mac.com

This website and associated content 2013 Nigel Morgan unless otherwise stated.